Tags

, , , , , ,

I realized this evening that it has become more important to me to finish than to be happy. This relates to my thoughts earlier in the day about some of the hard choices to be made as I push toward finishing this thesis. I am not thrilled with this development, but now that I’ve recognized that this is the reality of finishing I can adjust my expectations for the other areas in my life.

I’ve been unhappy in a general way for some time now, and I suspect I might be turning into a wet blanket, negative nelly, sourpuss, and party-pooper. I’ll try to keep some of my criticisms, disappointments, and anxieties to myself – unhappiness can be contagious.

Finally, I may not be happy, but I can be kind and loving to my son and husband. They deserve my gratitude for being supportive through this morass of graduate school.

