Another set of March Madness brackets, this time devoted to the greatest hits of Western art history! Too bad I totally missed it this year! And congrats to the winner Bernini. Check out the final bracket of competitors and winners:
http://betterbracketmaker.com/#!/c1f1e97137235

Percival Henry

I’ve been wanting to do this for years, and with this blog, I finally can. We’re going to decide history’s greatest Western artist since 1400, using the time-tested structure of the NCAA basketball tournament brackets. The field will consist of 64 artists, broken into four historical eras: Renaissance (1400 and 1500s),  Baroque (1600 and 1700s), 19th Century and Modern. Seedings are determined by me.  I’d love to get enough people to vote on the “games” to determine the results, but we’ll see. I’ll publish the seedings, with an iconic work by each artist, this week, then we’ll start the match ups next week.

Today, we’ll start with the Renaissance bracket:

1, Michelangelo (1475-1564)

Michelangelo_Moses

2, Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519)

429px-Leonardo_da_Vinci_-_Virgin_of_the_Rocks_(detail)_-_WGA12695

3, Raphael  (1483 – 1520)

Pope_Julius_II

No surprises in the first three seeds; the only debate is probably the order. I went with Michelangelo because of his versatility and longevity. If this contest was…

View original post 263 more words

